Manatee Clerk sworn in as statewide association president

Manatee Clerk sworn in as statewide association president

Manatee County Clerk of the Circuit Court and Comptroller, Angel Colonneso, is the 2021-22 Florida Court Clerks & Comptrollers President. 

The Honorable Angel Colonneso, Clerk of the Manatee County Circuit Court and Comptroller, was installed as the Florida Court Clerks & Comptrollers (FCCC) President on Wednesday, June 30, 2021, during FCCC's 2021 Summer Conference Annual Banquet. President Colonneso was sworn in by State Representative Will Robinson, District 71, and took over for the Honorable Tara S. Green, Clay County Clerk of Court and Comptroller, who served as FCCC President during 2020-2021. 

FCCC is a statewide, nonprofit member association composed of Florida's Clerks of the Circuit Court and Comptrollers. FCCC provides local government support services, technical assistance, and accreditation opportunities for all association members. 

The FCCC President provides direction for the association's activities, which includes the 68 independently elected Clerks of Court and Comptrollers from throughout the state, in a united effort to act as the premier model of exceptional government and improve their services for residents and protect the public trust. In addition, as an Executive Committee member, the FCCC President plays an integral role in guiding the ongoing oversight of business activities, program policies, and operations for the association. 

Colonneso's theme, which will guide initiatives during her presidency, is "We're in this together."

"While we are all independently elected officials, Clerks face similar issues statewide," said President Colonneso. "I want to focus this year on how we can best serve our constituents with a collective approach. By collaborating, building, and working together, Florida's Clerks of Court and Comptrollers will continue to act as the premier model of exceptional government. I look forward to leading our team as FCCC President with this goal at the forefront." 

About Clerk Angel Colonneso

Colonneso has nearly 30 years of public service to Manatee County. She served as an Assistant State Attorney under Earl Moreland for over a decade, prosecuting numerous crimes including gang violence, homicide, and DUI. Over half of her years of public service has been with the Manatee County Clerk of the Circuit Court, where she served in multiple departments, including General Counsel to her predecessor, R.B. "Chips" Shore.

Colonneso is a Manatee County Bar Association member, having served as both a Director and an Officer. In addition, she is a member of the Manatee Memorial Hospital Women's Action Committee, Bradenton Kiwanis Club, and the Florida Association of Women Lawyers. 

Her peers around the state elected Colonneso to serve on the Executive Board of FCCC in 2017. In addition, the Florida Supreme Court appointed her to the Florida Courts Technology Commission and Senate President Bill Galvano appointed Colonneso to serve a two-year term on the Executive Council of the Clerk of Court Operations Corporation. 

FCCC 2021-2022 Leadership

Colonneso will serve alongside other newly elected 2021-2022 Executive Committee members:

  • Martin County Clerk of Court and Comptroller Carolyn Timmann (President-Elect)
  • Suwannee County Clerk of Court and Comptroller Barry Baker (Vice President)
  • Orange County Clerk of Court Tiffany Moore Russell, Esq. (Treasurer)
  • Hernando County Clerk of Court and Comptroller Doug Chorvat Jr., CGCIO, CPM (Secretary). 

Along with the Executive Committee, the following are the FCCC 2021-2022 Board of Directors: 

  • The Honorable JD Peacock II (Okaloosa County) – District I Director 
  • The Honorable Gwen Marshall Knight (Leon County) – District II Director 
  • The Honorable Greg Godwin (Hamilton County) – District III Director 
  • The Honorable Angela Vick (Citrus County) – District IV Director 
  • The Honorable Tom Bexley (Flagler County) – District V Director 
  • The Honorable Ken Burke, CPA (Pinellas County) – District VI Director 
  • The Honorable Kevin Madok, CPA (Monroe County) – District VII Director 
  • The Honorable Stacy M. Butterfield, CPA (Polk County) – Past President 
  • The Honorable Tara S. Green (Clay County) – Past President


Click to Share

Share on Facebook Share on LinkedIn Share on Twitter